#BookBlogWriMo Day 1 – The History of My Blog and Thanks

History of Blog-ThanksDay1

Hello everyone and welcome to my first post for Book Blog Writing Month! I’m really excited to take part in this challenge. Thanks to Book Bumblings for getting this started! If you’re also a book blogger and you’d like to take part, head on over to their post to find out the daily prompts and get your blog on the list. I’ve also decided to spice it up a bit and add in a “30 Days of Thanks” bit each day. I will also throw in some fun facts or other fun posts here or there, so please enjoy! Let’s get started. Shall we?

#BookBlogWriMo Day 1 – The History of My Blog

I’ve always been a book lover and a critic at heart. I was a journalism and English double major in college and always had a taste for stating my opinion. I was always very busy, but overall writing and reading were my outlets. Along with theater and music. After graduating college, I spent a few years figuring myself out. I decided that English and Journalism weren’t the career routes for me, at least not full time, but I knew I still needed to put my skills to good use. Last December I decided to take a risk and start a book blog. I put together all of the plans, figured out my reviewing format, and then launched on January 3rd, 2014. That first post was a bit nerve-wracking as I pressed publish… well, after I read, and re-read about 15 times. And then there was my first book review.

I’ve had some struggles along the way. It’s been slow to start as I’ve been building relationships with various authors and finding my groove. As I near my one year blogiversary, I find myself looking back and thinking Jeesh, I definitely could have done that differently. Sometimes there’s a little bit of Oops, didn’t put in the right date for that book review. But overall, things have been wonderful. I sign up for tours and have found some great authors along the way.

30 Days of Thanks – Day 1

I am thankful for many things.. but today (and every day) I am thankful for books. I’m feeling a bit nostalgic when I think back to the beginnings of this blog; books are where it all began. I’ve been reading since I was very little, I started very young and haven’t been able to stop since. Books make my world go round and I can’t ever have enough. Of course, I prefer those good ol’ sturdy paper copies, but I’m warming up to my Kindle. There’s nothing like that smell of book, mixed with the crinkling of paper as pages turn. The first page is the first step into a new adventure. I’m thankful for such a wonderful escape. It’s like the Pagemaster – I can choose if I want fantasy, horror, adventure… humor, serious, psychologically thrilling… it’s all at the tip of my fingers and I’m very fortunate to own so many wonderful books. My collection grows all the time as my husband and I fill out bookshelves with everything we love, and even some we don’t know yet.

Hey.. if you’re ever looking to pass on some amazing books, keep me in mind.

Thanks for reading, everyone! I look forward to sharing these next 29 days with you. If you haven’t liked my Facebook page yet, head on over and share this page with your friends.

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

2 thoughts on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 1 – The History of My Blog and Thanks

Leave a Reply

