#BookBlogWriMo Day 2 – How I Read and Thanks

How I read and thanks 2

 

#BookBlogWriMo Day 2 – How I Read

This is such a loaded topic – how do I read? At first I told myself I would only ever read paper books,but then I downloaded the Kindle app on my old phone after discovering 100 Free Books and was a lost cause. Free books at my finger tips? Shortly after this discovery, my husband, parents, and in-laws got my my Kindle Fire HD and, well, now I’d have to say I read a bit of everything. I still prefer to read a “real” book, but my Kindle houses all of my indie author review books.

During the day, my Kindle is set to absolute brightness – the mobi formatting is usually the tan background with the brown font color, typically set to something standard. At night, I turn down the brightness and change the formatting to the black background and white font – the perfect “pre-sleep” setting. As for paperbacks – well, they only come one way and that’s just fine with me.

I read on the way to work on the train, at lunch, on the way home, and before bed. If I’m really hooked on a book, I find extra time in between all those times to read. It’s hard to cut the addiction once it starts, after all.

I read quickly, unless I’m editing something.

I try not to buy books unless I absolutely need to. My TBR list is SO long, but I don’t have the funds to buy them all. I buy many of my paper books from the Used Book Superstore in Burlington, MA. I like to adopt books. 🙂

If I’m reading a “real” book, I sometimes use regular bookmarks, but I’ve been known to grab a post-it note or an index card to throw in as I work through the story. I don’t mark up my books, though I do a lot of highlighting and note taking in my Kindle. If a line makes me laugh out loud on the train, I know it’s a keeper. If I think something is poorly worded, I highly those, too.

I cringe at poor editing while reading, and there have been times when I can’t work my way through a story because the editing is so rough.

I have never listened to an Audiobook, though I think it would be so much fun to record one. (Authors, I’m lookin’ at you!)

How do you read?

how do you read

30 Days of Thanks – Day 2

Today I am thankful for the roof over my head. It’s snowing outside and I couldn’t be happier to be indoors and away from the cold. I’m fortunate to have a place to come back to every day and call home, a warm bed to sleep in, and a wonderful little family to keep me company.

One thought on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 2 – How I Read and Thanks

  1. Audio books can be great for they show us just how much a professional reader can make of words. When it comes to poetry audio is wonderful.
    Im sure you use Gutenberg its a marvellous site.
    I was interested to read about addiction in the reading context and it can make us inactive.
    I’m 73 but like to keep active by walking around town or country. Observing people and animals is the perfect way of activating the mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

