#BookBlogWriMo Day 6 – #TBT Favorite Childhood Books and Thanks

fav childhood books and thanks 6
#BookBlogWriMo Day 6 – #TBT – Favorite Childhood Books

I was that kid who always got reprimanded in class for hiding books under my desk and reading… during every class. I always had my nose stuck in a book. Once I saw this was a prompt, I knew it just wouldn’t be possible to list all of the books that I loved growing up, so I tried to mix in to run through growing up. I look at my book shelves happily, knowing that my college of loved books is growing all the time. I find myself going through the Used Book Superstore and spending hours in the Child and Young Adult sections. This post was actually a whole lot of fun for me to do because it brought me back. Now I want to go back and read some of these books again. I’m sure my mother will get a kick out of this, too. Well, here are some of my favorites:

LoveYouForever

Love You Forever
By: Robert Munsch

This story was, by far, my favorite book growing up. I remember turning the pages and falling deeper into this story. My heart broke as time moved on in this story, even when I was a young child. This story affected me far deeper than it probably should have and still sticks with me today.

sidewalk-ends-191x250

 

Where the Sidewalk Ends
By: Shel Silverstein

I have loved poetry forever. I have notebooks filled with my poetry from since I was little until the end of college. I haven’t written much since, but WTSE (and anything else by him) was such a wonderful adventure for me. I love the quirkiness to this day. I look forward to owning the entire collection one day. Even beyond all of that, the illustrations in his books are absolutely wonderful. I wanted to be Shel Silverstein.

are you there god

 

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.
By: Judy Blume

I read this book over and over and over again. Something about this story pulled me right in and I couldn’t get it. I felt it. I understood it. I was it. I was that little girl who would say, “Are you there God? It’s me, Samantha.” Then I’d just start talking. This story made me feel better. This one was a huge thanks to my Mom. She introduced me to Judy Blume and I was hooked. Her, and Sharon Creech.

 

 

The Sweep SeriesBook of shadows
By: Cate Tiernan

I have read this one over and over, as well. All of them. Every few years, I go back to this series and pick it up, then I relive the moments. This book was such a wonderful look into a fantasy world with a great basis on fact. I love that my family was so open minded and comfortable to let me read books about Wicca. I loved getting lost in this world of magick and nature and love. It also made me fall in love with the name Hunter. 🙂

 

The_Outsiders_book
The Outsiders
By: S.E. Hinton

This is the most important book that my mother gave to me when I was younger. There is no other book that has stayed with me as much as this one has. My favorite poem comes from this book, my first book crush Johnnycake, and some of the most wonderful life lessons. S.E. Hinton started writing this book when she was just 15 and it was published when she was 18! She was an inspiration to my young mind. If she could do it, so could I. Come to think of it, I’m due to re-read this one again, too.

harry-potter-series1627

 

The Harry Potter Series
By: J.K. Rowling

I don’t think this series needs much of an explanation, but I will give one anyway. I grew up with these books. As my mother would read to my younger sister chapter by chapter each night, I would take the book and read at my own pace, quickly finishing and anxiously awaiting the release of the next book. I fell in love with this wonderful world and, like most kids my age, wished my own letter to Hogwarts would arrive.

 

 

*sigh* What a wonderful childhood I had. So many great books.

30 Days of Thanks – Day 6

This is easy… I am thankful for all of the books above. They shaped me into the person I am today, as all of the books I have read and will read will continue to do so.

 

What books are some of your favorites from childhood?

 

One thought on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 6 – #TBT Favorite Childhood Books and Thanks

  1. Rhonda Eaton says:

    As a young girl, I curled into nooks and crannies of my old house and read books…just like you! I remember reading The Diary of Anne Frank as I hid in the dark corners of our home. I felt really connected her need to communicate. The Outsiders was one of my favorites, too; I read it the year it was published. I think I was about the same age as S.E. Hinton. I was also a Shakespeare geek. I read whenever I wasn’t writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

