#BookBlogWriMo Day 13 – My Review Process and Thanks

review process and thanks 13

#BookBlogWriMo Day 13 – My Review Process

Going into this whole book reviewing thing, I knew I needed to come up with some sort of process, but I didn’t know where to start. Instead of creating some step-by-step, I just let it flow. That’s important. Don’t let someone else tell you how to do it, just feel it out and do what comes naturally. This is my process…

First, I identify a book I’d be interested in reading and reviewing. Sometimes I get approached by an author to review one of their books. Other times I pick books from my shelf to read and review. Most times, though, the books I review come from blog tours and things that various authors are throwing. I always do better having a deadline.

Once I know the book I’m reviewing, I give myself a date to review by (or a date is given to me, pending if I am part of a tour or not.) I put this into my Erin Condren planner. It’s so wonderful. I try to use it for everything. [Once I get more detailed with it, I will do a blog post to give others ideas.]

Then the reading begins. I have a little red journal that I take notes in as I read. I do highlight on Kindle, but I rarely use that to help me with reviews. My little notebook is my best companion for these reviews. I write character names down so that I have that to reference with the review, I put plot points and other information that stands out to me, and I include other things like if the piece of literature is poorly edited. These all make their way as a jumbled mess into my review somehow.

I don’t like to write my reviews too far in advance. I like everything to be honest, and if it sits too long I will read it over and over and over and then start changing things. For me, reviewing is raw. It shouldn’t be over thought, too complex, or boisterous. I do like to make sure I cover all of my bases, though. [I won’t go into detail tonight, since tomorrow’s post is all about my ratings system!]

Then the review comes together. I try to include graphics (at least the book cover) to make it more appealing, and heck, some people do judge a book by its cover. If I think a particular cover is spiffy and creative, or really striking, I will comment on it.

Then the review goes live. 🙂

What is your review process like?

 

30 Days of Thanks – Day 13

I am thankful for faith and hope. I may not be incredibly religious, but I have faith. I think that hope and faith drive us. When things are rough, when tragedy strikes, when we are in waiting… Faith is a wonderful guide. I’m not talking about an all powerful being (or beings). You can have faith in yourself, someone else, something higher, or in general… As long as I have it, I am ok. For that, I am thankful.

One thought on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 13 – My Review Process and Thanks

  1. Caught Read Handed says:

    I always include the cover too. Occasionally I’ll include a gif or a picture that fits in with my reaction. Definitely have to include the cover though as for some people that’s what hooks them. I’ve heard a lot people mention Erin Condren planners. I might have to check them out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

