#BookBlogWriMo Day 14 – My Ratings System and Thanks

ratings system and thanks 14

#BookBlogWriMo Day 14 – My Ratings System

When I first started this blog, I knew that I wanted to have my own style of reviewing. When I read, I look for quite a few different things, but there are a few things that really make an impact. I posted those in this post earlier this year. Knowing this, I created my reviewing system; each category has its own ranking from 0-5 stars. These 5 sections get added together for an “Out of 25” score. Here’s the breakdown:

Whenever I look at reviews for books that I am introduced to, I look for a lot of different things. All those can be pulled into 5 main topics:

  • Characterization
  • Dialogue
  • Plot
  • Imagery
  • The Ending

In an effort to put all of this information in one place, I include a 0-5 star rating system for each of the topics above, totalling 25.

I understand that most rating systems are solely 1-5 stars, so here is my breakdown:

  • 0 Stars = 0 Stars
  • 1-5 Stars = 1 Star
  • 6-10 Stars = 2 Stars
  • 11-15 Stars = 3 Stars
  • 16-21 Stars = 4 Stars
  • 22-25 Stars = 5 Stars

***Keep in mind, editing is also highly important to the effect of a story. If the editing in poor, I will say something. As an editor and a reader, I find many grammatical errors highly distracting. We all make mistakes, so a missing comma here or there isn’t an issue to me. Heck, I also appreciate creative license to do what you will with your period, commas, semicolons, ellipses, etc. But make it work or it will end up in my review.  [ If you have questions about my editing services or just editing in general, please feel free to contact me.]

30 Days of Thanks – Day 14

I am thankful for family dinners and get-togethers. It’s so easy for life to take over and not to have time for anything else, but being able to see family more than just once a month is a wonderful thing. Whether this is through dinner, random visits, family parties, or something else – I’m thankful for it all.

One thought on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 14 – My Ratings System and Thanks

Leave a Reply

