#BookBlogWriMo Day 17 – My Favorite Book Tropes and Thanks

fav book tropes and thanks 17

#BookBlogWriMo Day 17 – My Favorite Book Tropes

Ah, so many clichés and so little time. I try to read things that aren’t predictable or stereotypical, but sometimes I’m just drawn to those stories that include those topics, character, or plot devices that make me squee with happiness or burrow my brow deep in thought. Here are some of my favorites:

Best Friends Who Discover They Are Supposed To Be Together

Ok, this may be done a lot. More than a lot. But I really don’t care. I love it. Perhaps that’s because my husband was my best friend and we were a bit blind to the reality of it all. I love these stories. They make me happy. Happiness is good, right?

Clean Cut or a Little Frayed Endings

Well, let me clarify. I don’t mind a little cliffhanger, but I really hate when books end either all hunky dory in a rushed way or have a ridiculous cliffhanger without any realistic sense of closure. Cliffhangers have a time and place, but using it in the middle of a nutty ending when you know another book won’t be released for another year plus is just a cruel marketing tool. Haha. But hey, it works most of the time. I love a book with a well though out ending. If it makes sense, it’s alright if it doesn’t have a happy ending, but if there’s a big fight scene and then stops right in the middle… no thanks.

Strong Female Characters

I love strong women figures in my stories. A female character who can hold her own without relying on a romantic figure to help her is wonderful to me. I don’t do the whole damsel in distress thing. Sure, we’re all human and sometimes need another to pick us up when we fall, but it’s far better to read about a character who can also pick herself up.

Books That Have References To Harry Potter, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, etc.

I love to see pop culture references that mean something to me. But only if they fit!! It is always ridiculous to see references to popular books, tv shows, and movies that you know are simply placed there because they wanted to somehow work it into a story, but then it doesn’t fit… and they do it anyway. Eep!

30 Days of Thanks – Day 17

I am thankful for being able to cook. My mom taught me how to hold my own in the kitchen and then I taught myself some things, as well. I love cookbooks and deciding something new to try. I’m not afraid to cook foods that are messy or complicated – that’s all part of the fun. Food is wonderful, but it’s so much more enjoyable when you put effort into it. Well, only when it tastes good. 🙂

What are you thankful for?

What are your favorite book tropes?

 

2 thoughts on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 17 – My Favorite Book Tropes and Thanks

  1. I’m a huge fan of best friends ending up together too! My boyfriend and I weren’t really friends first, but there was an immediate friendship. But I like to think we’re like Monica and Chandler – we high five when most couples would kiss, rag on each other a lot, and sometimes act like just friends. But then we cuddle up. It’s the perfect combination. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

