#BookBlogWriMo Day 28 – Book Pet Peeves and Thanks

28 book pet peeves

#BookBlogWriMo Day 28 – Book Pet Peeves

Ugh, there are too many things that grind my gears when it comes to books. I tend to have a fairly short attention span when it comes to certain things. I also wrote a very long post to this, and then when I clicked “Publish” it all disappeared. So, here’s my Spark Notes version of my book pet peeves:

  • Terribly Editing – As an editor, it is very difficult for me to read a poorly edited book. I allow for a couple, but once I go beyond one hand’s worth.. onto the next book.
  • Poor Content – I don’t know about you, but I read a book for the story. If the plot is ill-developed or entirely too predictable, I just can’t get invested.
  • Sex For Sex’s Sake – Intimacy can be used as a great plot driver, however, throwing sex into a story because you can just really grinds my gears. If I wanted to read erotica, I could. This seems to happen most often in New Adult books; this rating doesn’t mean that a story needs to have detailed sex on every page.
  • Perpetuating Abusive Relationships – This is like saying, “Yes, little YA reader, it is okay for your significant other to grab you when you are trying to leave a room and end an argument. This is normal in relationships.”
  • Unrealistic/Rushed Endings – This is self-explanatory.
  • Super Angst – Sure, angst does a great job helping a story along and adding layers, but there is no need for angst every page you turn. This actually makes the story heavy and unreadable.
  • Pointless Cliffhangers – If the only point of a cliffhanger is to stretch the book into a sequel or a series, don’t do it! This is really frustrating to a reader. When you can easily make a story one book, do it. You gain respect and alleviate unnecessary frustration.

30 Days of Thanks – Day 28

I am thankful for my grandmother, Ma. I am so lucky to have grown up around such a wonderful woman.

One thought on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 28 – Book Pet Peeves and Thanks

Leave a Reply

