C: Three More C’s To Hook Me Onto A Great Story

image

Last year I posted a similar article to this one entitled The Four C’s To A Great Book and A Successful Review From Me. To follow suit, here are three more C’s that I want when I real a book:

Chaos
A little chaos goes a long way. I don’t need stories I read to have something crazy happening at every turn of the page, but I like when something is going on. A good issue that throws the characters into a bit of a frenzy. The issue or driving force.

Confidence
This actually falls in two places: the characters and the writing. I really hate reading a character who is deprived completely of any kind of confidence. There is something in this world that makes people tick, keeps them going… find this in a character. It is hard to find common ground with a character who is just a true Eeyore. The only time this works is if there is another character to balances them out. That being said, it is difficult to read about a character who just doesn’t care about anything. This rarely happens in anything I’ve read and I hope it stays that way. If there is some sort of spark or passion in a character, this usually helps balance out the story. Dark, dramatic literature would be the only place this could be brushed away.

Another important sector where confidence is key is in the author’s writing. Tentative words and hesitant sentences drive me crazy. Short, choppy phrases and dialogue with no direction except for filler make me feel that the writer isn’t confident in the story. Trust yourself. If you don’t, find someone who can really help your story find a strong step. A story that has direction and knows it’s foundation keeps me hooked until the very end.

Closure
I’m just not a fan of books that don’t give me something to breathe about. If I’m really into a story and it just ends on a huge cliffhanger without taking some of the tension away, I’m bound to become more frustrated with the story. It is usually very obvious when an author is relying on that cliffhanger ending to drive readers to the next book and promote sales instead of honing in on a great story. In some ways, I feel like this technique can diminish trust in your reader and push them away. I know I’ve stopped reading series due to unnecessary extensions in stories.

Leave a Reply

