E: Editing

image

Ever since I was a little bookworm, I consume literature like a mad woman. The books spanned all over many genres and were a wide array of reading levels since I was above my age expectation. I always read ahead in class when most others were moving at a slower pace and I tended to get into trouble for reading books under my desk during other subjects. I remember being excited for D.E.A.R. (Drop Everything and Read) time, pulling out my book and happily floating along the pages. (This particular memory has me reading one of the Wayside School books.)

Being the bookworm that I was, I found out pretty quickly that I had a knack for reading a professionally published piece of literature and finding errors that were missed by the editors. It was like a little game of mine. As I have grown older, this skill has only grown, along with my passion for reading. After a double major is English and Journalism in undergrad, I decided to start this blog over a year ago so I could combine a few joys of mine and share them with those who have similar interests. Little did I know my editing skills would find a home as well.

I have had the truly wonderful opportunity to edit for Michele G Miller for almost a year now and I’m loving every minute of it. There is something soothing and natural to me about editing pieces of literature. A comma here. An extra word there. A suggestion on wording down there. On top of this, I have an appreciation for the creative license that every writer holds; sometimes the story requires some funky punctuation choices and at other times it needs something more rigid. Being an indie editor has allowed me to adapt, but also to have my own voice. It’s my own little mark on the indie world that I have come to love so much.

Leave a Reply

