#SRC Review – Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Maybe in Another Life
By: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Publication Date: July 7, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Women’s Fiction

*I received a free print copy of Maybe in Another Life from BookSparks Summer Reading Challenge 2015 in exchange of an honest review.

*~*

badge copy

Synopsis

Life is long and full of an infinite number of decisions…

At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. Shortly after moving back to her hometown of Los Angeles, she goes out to a bar with her best friend, Gabby, and reconnects with her high school boyfriend, Ethan. Just after midnight, she is offered a ride home by each of them.

What happens if she leaves with Gabby?
What happens if she leaves with Ethan?

As these two realities run their course, Maybe in Another Life raises questions about fate and true love: Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps, most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?

*~*

My Thoughts

Maybe in Another Life is SUCH a good book. I read it within the span of two days, and that’s only because I had to be at my day job. Otherwise – you bet I’d have finished this within 24 hours! This book is similar to the pick your own adventure books, but from the point of view of the main character – Hannah Martin. Unlike the PYOA books, we get to see both adventures for Hannah. The decision to get a ride from either Gabby or Ethan can take her life on very different courses. As we move back and forth through each path during alternating chapters, I found myself being sucked into each storyline; as the chapter ended, I felt momentarily cut off while I revisited the other potential line.

Hannah is a lost soul with nowhere that she can call home. After living in many places and coming out of a rough relationship, she has decided to go back to her childhood home. This is where we meet her best friend, Gabby, and her ex, Ethan. I LOVE Gabby – she’s a strong character with a notion of success and equality. Ethan was a good character, as well, though I don’t find myself as attached to him. Perhaps he’s just not my type. 😛 There are some other excellently developed characters within both of Hannah’s realities, but I’m not going to talk about them since I don’t want to give anything away.

Life has a funny way of working itself out and often we find ourselves wondering “What if I had made this decision differently?” I know I have. For me, I love where I’ve landed, but maybe in another reality I’ve landed somewhere else and feel just the same? This book really makes you think, and I appreciate that. With such a difficult task of pretty much writing two books and combining them into one, I’d say this is an overall success for Taylor Jenkins Reid.

PS. I am a huge fiend of cinnamon buns, as well. Read the book and you’ll understand what I mean.

*~*

The Final Countdown

Characterization – 5/5 Stars
Dialogue– 4.5/5 Stars
Plot – 5/5 Stars
Visual Imagery – 4.5/5 Stars
Ending 5/5 Stars

Total: 4.8 Stars

Buy Links:

— Amazon: Follow This Link
— B&N: Follow This Link

*~*

AUTHOR BIO

“Taylor Jenkins Reid is an author, essayist, and TV writer from Acton, Massachusetts. Her debut novel, Forever, Interrupted, has been optioned with Dakota Johnson attached to star. Her second book, After I Do, was called a “must read” by Kirkus. Her most recent novel, Maybe In Another Life has been featured in People, Cosmo, Bustle, Good Housekeeping, PopSugar, USA Today and more.

In addition to her novels, Taylor’s essays have appeared in the Los Angeles TimesThe Huffington Post, xoJane, and a number of other blogs.

She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Alex, and their dog, Rabbit.” (From author’s website)

Author links:

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

 

Leave a Reply

