Book Review: Kaleidoscope by Mindy Hayes

Kaleidoscope Hayes

Kaleidoscope (Faylinn Book 1)
By:
 Mindy Hayes
Publication Date: December 28, 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Blurb:
“Was I still a human? Gosh, I still wanted to be human. Even just to keep a sliver of who I thought I was. But as I thought about being human, standing in the shade of the forest, I felt less human than ever. The trees fought for my allegiance.”

It starts in her chest. The change Calliope doesn’t see coming. It pulses like a second heartbeat, urging her to give in to the need to be in the depths of the forest. She’s compelled to fight the pull, but the more she denies it the stronger it becomes until she finally surrenders and is pulled into a secret world of enchantment.

Kai and Declan need her to accept what she is, but with everything left unsaid, acceptance may be the least of their worries. Knowing their fate lies in her hands, they’ll stop at nothing to protect and prepare her for what lies ahead.

Will Calliope be able to accept what Kai and Declan reveal or will her desire to be normal keep her from acknowledging her true destiny?

*~*

I have been a follower of Mindy Hayes for some time now. I was introduced to her by Michele and couldn’t wait to get my hands on one of her novels. Well, I got my hands on it and then let it sit in my To Be Read pile for a bit of time. What a silly decision!! I am a sucker for fantasy novels, especially well-written ones like Kaleidoscope. Hayes pulled me in with her prologue and I was reading with bated breath until the last page. Truth be told, it took me a day to finish this book; I just couldn’t put it down.

I enjoyed getting to know Calliope, the main character of this novel, and meeting her friends and family. Calliope is discovering herself and not all of these discoveries are easy for her. She’s well-developed and continues to grow through this novel, and surely into the next two. Cameron, Calliope’s best friend, is another character I loved. He’s the perfect best friend and I love the dynamic between him and Calliope. Now, Kai and Declan are fabulous. Their banter and honesty made me look forward to each time they appeared, wondering what would happen next.

Hayes writes with a lot of color and description, allowing the reader to easily visualize what is happening in the story. The use of nature to drive the plot enhanced the story and became almost a character in itself. Fantasy has always been a favorite genre of mine, getting lost in a world I wish could exist beyond what I know. Hayes helped make that vision come to life on the pages of Kaleidoscope.

The next two books were on my Wishlist even before I finished this one and I can’t wait to add them to my Hayes experience.

*~*

The Final Countdown

Characterization – 4.5/5 Stars
Dialogue– 4/5 Stars
Plot – 4.5/5 Stars
Visual Imagery – 5/5 Stars
Ending 4.5/5 Stars

Total: 4.5 Stars

Links
Amazon Kaleidoscope (Faylinn #1)
Amazon Ember (Faylinn #2)
Amazon Luminary (Faylinn #3)
Amazon Complete Faylinn Book Bundle
Goodreads Book Page

About the author:

Mindy is the author of the YA Fantasy Faylinn Novels, Kaleidoscope (Faylinn #1), Ember (Faylinn #2), and Luminary (Faylinn #3), as well as the Contemporary Romance Willowhaven Series, Me After You (Willowhaven #1) and Me Without You (Willowhaven #2). Currently, she’s working on the Coming of Age Romance, The Day That Saved Us.

She grew up in San Diego, California exploring her interest for singing and playing the piano. Mindy first discovered her passion for reading when she had to make her first flight alone to South Carolina to visit her, then, fiancé. Her love for writing followed shortly after. Mindy and her husband have now been married for eight years and live in Summerville, South Carolina.

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

Leave a Reply

