(L) A Whole Lotta Lovin’

L

Today’s post for the A-to-Z Challenge is brought to you by the letter L!

I’ll read almost anything. I don’t mind a little quirk, a young adult fantasy, a short thriller, or a long monologue. Whatever it is, it needs to pull me in. One thing I’ve been straying from lately is the predictable romance. This isn’t easy to avoid these days, when romance is all over the place. Hey, I get it. Sex sells. Always has. Always will. Of everything that this world has been through, all of the changes, romance remains.

Whatever the case, love and sex can be found in many nooks and crannies and wide open spaced of a book these days. It gets bored, honestly.

I like to read a story with a plot based on something besides the kiss the character keeps envisioning or the between-the-sheets playtime of the main character and her conquest.

I love me a romance just as much as the next person, but does it really have to be the focus of a book? Why can’t more people write books about strong characters who don’t rely heavily on love or lust? Why can’t the lifeblood off a main character be independence? 

*end rant*

Leave a Reply

