Book Review: Book of Shadows by Cate Tiernan

bos tiernan cover

Book of Shadows (Sweep #1)
By:
 Cate Tiernan

Publication Date: January 29, 2001 (My edition)
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis:

Something is happening to me that I don’t understand.

I see things, feel things in a new way. I can do things normal people can’t do. Powerful things. Magical things. It scares me.

I never chose to learn witchcraft. But I’m starting to wonder if witchcraft is choosing me.

*~*

The Sweep series is one of my all-time favorite book series. Of course, it doesn’t beat Harry Potter by any stretch of the imagination, but that’s also a big act to follow. I will let you know now, I own every book in this series, and I’ve read it through many times over. The bindings are worn down, the covers are a little crinkly, and the pages are well-read. Safe to say, it’s one of my favorites. I actually read it shortly after it was released; my mother found the first book at some sale (Scholastic, maybe?) and it was love at first read.

Book of Shadows is about Morgan Rowlands, a regular teenage girl. Her life is going as normal until Cal Blaire moves to town and goes to her school. Everything turns upside down and she discovers things about herself she never dreamed possible. She has Cal to guide her and her friends in their journey into the world of witchcraft.

Tiernan does a great job creating characters that are likable and mysterious. I loved getting to know each of the characters in Book of Shadows and learning about their lives. There is a beauty in the world of Wicca for these characters, with magic and nature in its depths. Where there is beauty and light, however, there is also darkness. Darkness intertwines in this world Morgan is discovering.

*~*

The Final Countdown

Characterization – 4/5 Stars
Dialogue– 4/5 Stars
Plot – 4/5 Stars
Visual Imagery – 4/5 Stars
Structure/Pacing/Editing – 4/5 Stars
Ending – 4/5 Stars

Total: 4 Stars

Links
Book of Shadows (Sweep 1) Kindle Edition Amazon Buy Link
Book of Shadows (Sweep 1) Paperback Amazon Buy Link
Book of Shadows, Coven, & Blood Witch 
(Sweep 1-3) Paperback Amazon Buy Link  <—AWESOME DEAL!!
Goodreads Book Page

 

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK!

Leave a Reply

