BookBlogWriMo Day 8

bbwm-d8

I tend to be pretty picky when it comes to books, and there are a few things that really get on my nerves when I’m reading a story:

  • Bad Editing*: This is a big one. It doesn’t help that I’m an editor*, so my eyes automatically zero in on the issue areas of a story. It’s rare that I’m reading an indie book and finish without finding any kind of issue. It is so important to have an editor, preferably one who is not the author. It’s damn difficult to edit your own literature with an unbiased eye.
  • Cliches: Oh my goodness. Please, stop with the whole “I’m secretly a witch, but didn’t know it until I turned 18, and now I’m coming into my powers and need to save the world.” There are only so many time I can read about the geeky hot girl who manages to charm the pants off the six-pack toting, cocky jock. Or how about the actually super gorgeous teenager who thinks she’s just a mundane no one and needs convincing from the guy on the corner. Disclaimer: There are times when I love these types of stories. Heck! Some of my favorite ones carry these tropes within their pages, but trust me when I say there’s a good way to write these, and a predictable one.
  • Overt Sex: I don’t want to read books filled with sex in every other chapter. Sex is not a character, unless the character is addicted, and then that could be done in a much more creative way. I don’t want to purchase a book expecting plot, only to find the plot is mostly driven with sordid sex scenes. That being said, I don’t steer clear from reading books with these scenes, of course.

This year’s BookBlogWriMo is hosted by The Perks of Being a Book Girl. If you want to sign up at any point, jump right in!

*Funny enough, I didn’t edit this post. I decided these posts will just be for my own zero-pressured joy, so please pardon

Thirty Days of Thanks – Day 8

I am thankful for hope in times of darkness.

Leave a Reply

